Colemak layouts

What should out Colemak layout look like?

As a potential starting point, Arley put together a layout.

Oh, and here’s the row / column labeling (in Keyboard Layout Editor) that we’re using on the electronics. It might be helpful for referring to specific key locations:

1 Like

This looks interesting. I’m a programmer, so I’m typing all day long. I learned the Dvorak layout some time ago on a keyboard which had keys all in a line (which was nice) but it was not angled like Keyboardio will be. However, the problem with Dvorak is the L and S keys are on the same pinky. No good. When you have anything to do with linux or command-line work, you’re going to type ls (list files) a zillion times a day.

But this layout looks good. I’d be willing to learn it.

I wish I didn’t have to continually overwork my already overworked pinky fingers on symbols. I type symbols all day long.

2 Likes

Same here. I’ve played with Colemak a bit but never got particularly proficient at it, but it seems like a much better system than Dvorak.

Not to drag the discussion away from Colemak, but as a Dvorak & Linux user, I simply aliased l to ls, and no more annoyance when listing file.

I see del, but the slightly different function backspace appears to be missing?

Otherwise I think this looks good. I’d personally probably prefer if you swapped pgup and rec, and pgdn and esc (optionally, then swap pgup from new position with tab).

Also, since only one of each of the sets of four thumb buttons has a secondary function, could one of the remaining three on one hand get a backspace function, and one on the other get a return? A left alt would also be cool if adding functions there.

1 Like

Longtime Colemak user reporting in. At first blush, this looks very usable. The only non-letter key that Colemak moves is Backspace, so I wouldn’t be too surprised if we don’t see many changes come from this thread.