FunctionalColor Plugin - Automatically label keys with colors

This is my first Kaleidoscope plugin that automatically assigns colors to your keys in groups based on their function. When the function layer is active, the LEDs will change to indicate the functions of the keys on that layer.

This should make it pretty easy for anyone to color their keys in such a way that it not only looks the way you want it to, but makes it easy to remember the functionality of each key, particularly useful when you’re reconfiguring your function layer and experimenting with different layouts.

You can download it here:

I am a total noob at both C++ programming and Arduino development, so be warned that I barely know what I’m doing… but so far it seems to work as intended. If anyone can have a look at my code and offer some tips for how I could optimize my plugin to be more efficient, use less memory/cpu, or otherwise work better, I’d be appreciative.

If you use this but want support for keys that I didn’t include (ie for letters in languages other than English), let me know and I’ll try to add them.

The backstory here is that I found it extremely frustrating and difficult to configure per-key colors on the Model 01, and there seemed to be no default means of helping a noobie user do this. I felt like Kaleidoscope could use a few helper functions to make it easier to tweak and easily set key colors.

Since I couldn’t find what I wanted, I wrote my own. Yay for open source!

If you want a fairly simple color scheme with a few keys highlighted, this plugin should help. If you want almost every single key to be a different color based on its function, but most “normal” alphanumeric keys in groups, this makes it easy to create a scheme like that.

To use the plugin, include the header, declare an effect using the
LEDFunctionalColor class, and tell the firmware to use the new effect.
Configure your own colors for groups of keys inside setup():