Code sharing for m01 and m100 firmware

I’ve been using a m01 for 5 years. It took me a few months to settle with a layout that I like and when I got my m100 I ported it over. Right now I need to manage two .ino files, one for each keyboard, and it’s getting old pretty fast trying to keep them in sync (smaller changes mostly, like led colors etc.).

I’m looking for a way to move most of the code (layout, space cadet config, led config, most plugin inits) into a common location so I’ve only one place to have to keep updating.

Has anyone figured out the best way to do this?

I think your best bet is using one .ino file with #ifdefs, and symlinking it to two places, one with their own sketch.json for the Model01 and the Model100, respectively.

For stuff that is Model100-only, you can use ARDUINO_keyboardio_model_100, and for Model01 specific things, ARDUINO_keyboardio_model_100.

1 Like

I am not sure if this will be useful for anybody else, but I’ve checked in most of what I use here: GitHub - lgnakano/KeyboardioSketches: Keyboardio Sketch

I created a .ino based on the example code , and surrounded most features with #ifdef and things alike.
I then check the following:

#ifdef ARDUINO_keyboardio_model_100
#include “configurationModel100.h”
#endif

#ifdef ARDUINO_AVR_MODEL01
#include “configurationModel01.h”
#endif

The configurationModel01.h and configurationModel100.h have the defines that specify which features will be used. All you do is to set the board type on the IDE.

There are different parts on the .ino where the same define is checked: whether to include a .h file, where macros are created, where the code should be in setup, if different keys should be used on the layout (for instance, if one shot is used, some of the keys are using OSM and OSL, but when one shot is not used, the corresponding keys are replaced).