Map to special characters, Dual OS

Hello! I just got my model 01, but I’m having some problems re-mapping. By going through the wiki I managed to re-map the prog key to be escape but I’m having issues mapping to my Norwegian native keys (ÆØÅ), I did find some threads on this but most of them required more programming competence than I have. One day I’m aiming to know code but for now I’m just starting to learn PHP and this seemed a bit daunting.

Are there any quick fix ways or dumb down explanations on how I can implement ÆØÅ? I’m thinking of sticking to the US-key setup and using the ÆØÅ keys by using a modifier key (alt or fn) and pressing another key, I’m thinking about somewhere in the range of these keys ; ’ - / …
Not sure which ones would be best as allot of keys have both function and numlock mapped to them already.

I’m using Windows 10 and Linux Mint, thank you for all replies! : )

EDIT: I’ve managed to flash in a .ino file by IIdata (https://github.com/lldata/Model01-Firmware/blob/master/Model01-Firmware.ino) but it uses FN-key as modifier with compose, but neither Ubuntu or Linux Mint have the ability to use the FN-key as a compose key. I want to get this working in Linux first as it’s linux I’ll be using most from now on.

How do you input those characters on your other keyboard(s)? If it’s by means of a compose key, what key do you use for that?

All my other keyboards (two of them) are native Norwegian keyboards with those characters present by default. But as I’m starting CS studies now I want to change to a US layout and just use modifier keys for me 3 Norwegian keys (åøæ ÅØÆ). I thought of using compose key as the script seemed to use compose.

Those letters are created by the OS Norwegian keymap from keys that produce other characters in the OS US keymap.

• US ’ / " is the same keycode as æ and Æ.
  • US ; / : is the same keycode as ø and Ø.
  • US [ / { is the same keycode as å and Å.