Model 100 Switches

Hey everybody,

I recently received my model 100 and absolutely love it’s design. However, I’m unhappy with my choice of switches - I chose the silent tactile ones (Kaihua?), and they’re really… Inconsistent. Some click, some clack, some are silent, some loud, and worst of all, the springs feel different on some keys.

I’m considering getting new switches (most likely silent linear), but since I’m new to the keyboard world, I’m afraid of buying the wrong ones. What brands work? What do I need to pay attention to? Are there different models/sockets? Do the key caps fit?

I’d appreciate a kick start in the right direction, and maybe more correct terminology. I’m sure I messed something up. :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance. Stay safe everyone.

1 Like

The keycaps should fit any MX-style switch, the hotswap sockets support both 3 and 5 leg switches, so the only two things (apart from feel) you need to pay attention to is that the switch should be an MX-style switch (not Alps, not Choc, or low profile, or anything else, MX-style), and if you want to make use of the LEDs, then the switch should have RGB-compatible housing. This usually means they have a small slit to let light come through, and/or have clear top housing. If a switch says it’s MX-style and SMD LED compatible, it’s more than likely to be fine. But if you want to go safe, before ordering any, you can run it by these forums, and we’ll help you verify!

This still leaves you with a ton of possibilities, however. If you’re new to this world, I would suggest buying a switch tester, and a handful of switches to test with it. This lets you test a number of options for reasonably cheap, and helps you decide what you actually like.