"MoveTo" vs "LockTo"... what's the difference?

While using Chyrsalis I came across “MoveTo” and “LockTo” for Layers.
What’s the difference between the two?

The difference is that Move To disables every other active layer, while Lock To does not. So if you have layers 1 and 2 active, and you Lock To layer 3, you’ll have 1, 2, and 3 active. If you Move To 3, you’ll have layer 3 active only.

The distinction is only really important when you have transparent keys on a layer, and actively make use of that. If you don’t, then in most cases, it doesn’t matter.

There’s more information about layers here:

https://kaleidoscope.readthedocs.io/en/latest/layers.html

1 Like