Switching keyboard layouts at the same time as starting with the Model100?

I’ve never learned to touch-type, and now after all those years I’m fairly used to hunting-and-pecking on a QWERTZ/Y keyboard. When ordering my Model100, I thought “Wouldn’t it be a great idea to finally learn to properly type with this keyboard?” and also “Let’s use a better layout than QWERTZ!” (Colemak-DH). As a software engineer, I type mostly code (using auto-completion and keyboard shortcuts as much as possible), shell commands, and short prose (chat, email, commit messages, etc.) in English, French, and German. So far in my career, my inability to touch-type hasn’t negatively effected my productivity (as far as I can tell), though I’m still ashamed of said inability. :pensive: :shushing_face:

Now, having plugged my Model100 in, typing on it is dead slow because I have to look up almost all key strokes and get used to putting all my fingers to work. I’m still on QWERTZ and I hesitate to make my life even worse by switching to Colemak-DH. I guess, since I can’t touch-type either layout, they are going to be equally painful to learn. I’m also not sure, given my “typing mix” that Colemak is going to be an improvement (access to symbols is the same between the two).

What do you think? Is learning Colemak a worthy investment for a developer? Should I stick to QWERTZ, learn it first and then reconsider other layouts? or just go back to my regular keyboard…

From personal experience, learning a new logical layout (like Colemak-DH) and a new physical layout (Model 100) at the same time is less of an issue than learning to touch-type and doing either of the previous two at the same time. Doing all three at the same time sounds like a huge annoyance. However, I’m one of those people who have trouble being proficient with multiple logical layouts: the moment I was proficient in Dvorak, I promptly forgot how to type QWERTY - so this may very well skew my view.