Building the firmware

I’ve just started toying around with building the firmware, and I would like to help make the process of building it a bit less painful.
I’m a fairly seasoned developer with lots of experience with C++ development and maintaining build systems, but have never worked with Arduinos and have rather limited experience with embedded systems.

The first question I’ve got to ask: What is going to become the “main firmware”? I know @algernon is working on plugins to the firmware, and @jesse has obviously been developing firmware. But how are these and other peoples efforts going to be combined?

I’ve managed to get the “master” firmware to build on my Arch box, but I had to make extensive changes to the makefile, and also fix a few things in the code that avr-g++ 6.2 (which is what Arch ships) will not accept. So where should these kinds of efforts be directed?

The factory firmware will be keyboardio/KeyboardioFirmware.

By using the Arduino tools (either the IDE, or the CLI tools), and creating a firmware Sketch, that pulls in the bits and pieces you want. Think of the core firmware as a library, one that makes it very easy to build your own firmware. Because essentially, that is what it is. The factory firmware is literally in the examples directory. :slight_smile:

I have my planned layout up on GitHub, that is a fairly complex example of how to pull things together. (It currently does not work, and lots of things will change, but the general idea is likely to remain the same)

Ummm… it is meant to be built with Arduino tools, not “plain” avr-g++. Without the Arduino tools, it will be a huge pain in the backside to build it, and even more so to pull in any plugins.

GitHub issue / PR against either the core firmware library, or Akela, or whatever else you’ll end up touching in the future.

1 Like

Hey @lars,

Thanks so much!