QMK port for Atreus 44 keys

I’ve never done this before, but excited to give it a try. I know there is already support for the original 42 key Atreus, so I guess most of the work will already be done.

I only received my Atreus two days ago and totally new to it and the keyboardio software. I have a couple of questions to start:

• I understand the Atreus is using a Arduino type controller, is that correct? What is it, a Pro Micro?
  • If I do manage to flash the Atreus with QMK, how do I go about restoring the Atreus back to the default software? Will the Chrysalis software still detect the keyboard?
  • With my Ergodox, I had a physical reset switch I could press, but also used QMK to program a Reset button on one of the layers. Where or what is the reset switch for the Atreus?

I’m sure I’ll have more questions later, but these are the first I can think of to get me started.

Regards,
Graeme

A pull request has just been merged for this. Have a look here.

1 Like

That’s awesome, thanks. Saves me the time in doing it (but now I lost out on the fun experimenting :joy:).

hold the bottom left key ( Esc by default) and reset the keyboard - either via a macro, or by sending a hang-up signal to the keyboard device, or by pressing the reset button on the bottom with a pin.

Ah, I saw that small pin hole on the backside of the keyboard, and was wondering if that was a reset button.

Do you know the answer to my 2nd question. If I wanted to go back to Keyboardio firmware, will the Chrysalis software still detect my Atreus even though it might be running QMK?

If you leave the bootloader intact you should be able to switch between the two.

Chrysalis detects the Atreus by its USB Vendor and Product ID. If those remain intact when flashing a QMK firmware onto it (and as far as I remember, they do), Chrysalis will be able to detect the keyboard. However, it will not be able to talk to it, and will guide you to the Firmware Update screen.