Scandinavian Keys

Hi! I’m completely new to the keyboardio, and trying to learn how to use it. I’m struggling with the Scandinavian letters, and I’m locking for a solution that allows me stick to the US layout.

What I have tried is to create dynamic macros for key chords as described in https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/topic/keyboard-shortcuts-for-international-characters-108fa0c1-fb8e-4aae-9db1-d60407d13c35. That does not seem to work, neither as a macro or as a key chord.
Secondly I though I might use the custom key code to describe the letters there, but I’m not able to figure out what the right code would be.

So I’ve gotten my self stuck and I’m not sure how to solve the issue.

The letters in question: æøåÆÅØ.

Any good ideas to help out???

1 Like

I use those Norwegian letters. It’s been a while since I messed around with this, but here are two ideas. 1) On my Keyboardio Atreus keyboard I used the Chrysalis software to map physical keys to characters. Somewhere in there I could choose a keyboard layout that has the Norwegian letters, and then I could use the mouse to point and click to map those letters to physical keys. 2) I have a Kinesis Advantage 2 keyboard with US layout. I chose the layout “US International” in my operating system on my computer. Then created a macro on the keyboard; the combination of key presses that according to the US International layout will produce the Norwegian character. I assigned the macro to the one physical key that I wanted to produce that Norwegian character.

1 Like

I struggled with this too.
You can’t fix it with firmware alone. The OS settings also matter.
There has been several posts about it in the past.
Happy to help if you need more help

I have the Model100, and previously the Model01. The firmware is set to US layout, and when I want to type Finnish or Swedish, I change the computer’s layout to fi.