Typing training for programming

Hi, I’ve had my keyboard.io for a week ish, and I’m enjoying it for normal typing, but having a hard time when it comes to punctuation, specifically things that you don’t use in normal day but you do use as a programmer - quotes, maths chars, 3 different parentheses, angle brackets, tab, cursor keys, etc.

I’m a network/systems engineer and programmer, so I hit tab and ? more often than I hit space, but, really don’t have the muscle memory for them yet, I keep hitting pgup or ~/`.

I’ve used the suggested online keybr.com and had fairly good success with that, even with the “punctuation” chars turned on, but they tend to be things that “normal” people would be more likely to use.

The last ergo keyboard I learned was a Kinesis Ergo Advantage which I used for 15 or so years, and despite not using one for 12 or so months (mine broke) my muscle memory is still strong, haha.

Does anyone have suggestions for training tools for programmers?

A lot of online typing tutors allow you to use custom text as practice. That would be one way. Another is just pushing yourself to program with the Model01. A third is to adjust the layout to match your muscle memory better (not necessarily completely, but perhaps better than the factory layout).

I went with a combination of #2 and #3: I forced myself to work with my Model01, and over the course of a few weeks, figured out where I want my brackets and the like. (Mind you, I started with a Dvorak layout, which has these symbols at better places to begin with, so I didn’t have to change much.)

I’ve being doing a little practice via typing.io to practice JavaScript and optimize key bindings.

Example: https://typing.io/lesson/javascript/jquery/traversing.js/1

I’ve found that it makes sense to move parentheses to the function layer (for me it is Fn+C and Fn+V) and move common keys like backslash and pipe to more convenient locations rather than overloading my pinky.

3 Likes