Home Row Layer/Modifier Keys When Held

Hi!

I’m just getting started with this keyboard, coming from an Ergodox EZ since I found the EZ’s thumb clusters too difficult to reach. I’m finding the Model01’s far more comfortable thus far. I did spend about a week on the EZ and had a layout I really liked in regard to having modifiers and layers access when holding down home row keys. See here:
https://configure.ergodox-ez.com/ergodox-ez/layouts/6abVD/latest/0

Can someone advise at a high level what’s the best way to achieve this on the Model01? It seems like QuKeys is a plugin that can do this from what I can find but I’m not certain. I also see that QuKeys was recently completely rewritten to address problems with home row modifiers but that rewrite appears incomplete. I’m hoping someone with this setup can chime in with some advice.

FYI I have no issue editing the arduino code and reflashing the board’s firmware. I’ve got some experience with C code and I already did it for a few key remaps. I just want to make sure I’m headed in the right direction before I dive into editing a bunch of code.

Thank you!

I looked at your Ergodox layout. I think that you can reproduce it easily and rapidly using Chrysalis.

1 Like

oo that’s great to hear, thank you. I’ll have to try that tonight.

Unrelated to this topic, but if you have any advice… when I first tried Chrysalis (latest 0.6) to update firmware, it gave an error and failed. I briefly troubleshot then went to Arduino but I think its permissions related (Mac OS Mojave) so I’ll explore that more. The keyboard device has write access for owner, group, all (666) so I’m not exactly sure what the deal is. My user is not in the ‘wheel’ group like the keyboard is but I didn’t want to add my user to that group without understanding the consequences.